Six recent reads

As another month has ended *insert customary astonished comment here* it’s time for my usual reading round-up. I rather like this post each month, even if it’s not often the most reliable set of posts, as it holds me accountable for how my reading challenge is going which at the moment seems to be going rather well, hooray! I’m currently on book 38 of 52, which puts me only one book behind schedule, not too bad really is it? So what have I been reading recently and what did I think of each book? Well read on!

recent reads

The Silver Linings Playbook – I loved this book! I really enjoyed reading Pat’s story and his attempts to be kind, rather than always right. His relationships with each of the other characters were wonderfully written and seemed realistic. I also liked that it wasn’t a perfect ending and that everything wasn’t wonderful at the end of it, somehow I think that would have gone against the realistic portrayal of mental illness that the book is all about.

Apple Tree Yard – This was a book that I purchased randomly (I think it was on offer at Amazon) and I’m so pleased that I did as it was brilliant! It reminded me a bit of Gone Girl as I didn’t like any of the characters but was totally gripped by the story, which was pacey and intriguing with some interesting plot twists and characters. There were shocking things that happened in the books and not everyone was deserving of this things but that made the book all the better, especially as things weren’t perfectly tied together at the end.

The Sea Sisters – I loved this book so much and would recommend it to anyone that likes easy and enjoyable reads. It follows a woman as she retraces her dead sisters trip around the world to the place where she died and tries to convince others that her sister wouldn’t have killed herself. It’s a journey of personal discovery as well as showing how little we know one another and exploring the relationship between two sisters who are very different. Really, really enjoyable and a great page turner.

Born Wicked – This has been on my bookshelf for ages and when I finally got round to reading it when I was away I read it in half a day. It was that good. It’s about a trio of sisters who also happen to be witches and it’s superbly written. I loved the secrets and twists and above all else the story. I can’t wait for the next book, it’s just going to get better and better after what happened at the end of the book. EEK!

City of Bones (Book 1 in Mortal Instruments) – This is a another book I’ve been meaning to read for ages and I finally did as I wanted to before the film came out. Sadly I still haven’t watched the film but I definitely will be as the book’s brilliant! The characters are well written and intriguing enough that you can’t see everything that’s going to happen straightaway. Also the twist near the end (yes obvious) but brilliant none the less. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

The Casual Vacancy – I preordered this book when it was first announced but I’ve not felt like reading it until recently thanks to the less than favourable reviews of it. Once I finally did read it I was surprised by how much I did enjoy it, don’t get me wrong it wasn’t page turning and I would be careful who I recommended it to, but it was classic J. K . Rowling in the sense that it had characters that were 100% formed rather than 2D and the world was all-encompassing. Although having said that, not a lot happened in a book that was so massive but over all I’m glad I read the book it was very interesting!

So what about you, what have you been reading lately and any suggestions on what I should read next? Even if I do have a bookcase full of books still to read…

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

