Pacific Island of dreams – Travel Tuesday

Greetings my fellow travel loving chums and how are you this lovely Tuesday? My fingers are crossed that you’re in fine form. As for me? I’m not too bad, thanks for asking! I’m catching up with a uni friend this evening so I’m really hopeful that it’ll be a lovely day full of yummy food and A LOT of nattering! As it’s Tuesday it’s time for a look back at my travel journals (yes I do own a couple) to have a reminisce over one of my past travelling adventures as part of the Travel Tuesday link up with Bonnie over at A Compass Rose. So after you read this here blog post make sure you pop on over to Bonnie’s blog to see all the other lovely posts.

So where are we headed to today I hear you ask? Well this morning we’re off over to the wonderful Pacific Ocean and the beautiful country of Fiji, which I was lucky enough to visit back in 2007 as part of my post University travels. I’m so pleased that half way through our five month trip we managed to squeeze in this week of calm in a small corner of paradise. Not only was it absolutely stunning it was also just what we needed – a week of rest and relaxation before we hit the madness of the U S of A.

100_1515

The beautiful blue sky and glossy green vegetation of Fiji

Whilst in Fiji we split our time equally between Nadi – one of the main towns – and the beautiful Coral Coast, which is on the south of the island. This was just perfect for us as it meant we got to see two sides of this lovely country. With Nadi we got to experience a Fijian ‘city’ and  we made the most of being in the town with walks to the markets and to buy the locally made knick knacks as well as being able to watch traditional Fijian dances and spending the day on the beautiful South Sea Island for snorkeling, massages and relaxation. The island  of South Sea was no more than 50m in diameter and it was one of the most relaxing places I’ve ever been lucky enough to experience. Everywhere you looked there was just water and more water, with one or two small land masses in the far distance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The gorgeous beach at South Sea Island

My favourite part about our week-long Fijian trip was the Coral Coast and the beautiful Mango Bay Resort, it really was paradise. Our ‘room’ was a three person safari ‘tent’ that was 20 meters from the beautiful beach with a stunning view towards the never-ending ocean. Whilst at the resort we learnt about the culture by making baskets, coconut sweets, jewelry and experiencing the wonders of Kava, went snorkeling, kayaking, watched traditional Fijian ceremonies, sun bathed, sun bathed and sun bathed some more and even got to experience an outdoor film night with cocktails galore. It really was absolutely wondrous and I can’t remember ever being so relaxed. It was simply amazing and one day I will go back to do it all again. Fiji is simply just stunning and absolutely out-of-this-world in it’s mind boggling beauty. Do you think I’m exaggerating with all the superlatives I’m using in this post? Then just check out some of my favourite photos from that week.

100_1525

Shadows and a calm pacific ocean

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The restaurant and pool at Mango Bay Resort

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of my all-time favourite pictures. Beautiful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One boat in a vast sea

What about you, what country have you been the most relaxed in, and what are your most stunningly beautiful pictures of? I’d love for you to leave links for me to have a gander – I love travelling from my desk at work or whilst sat on the bus! Have a lovely Tuesday each and everyone of you. xx

A Compass Rose
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Oh my gosh I fell in love with your all time favorite picture. It’s so beautifully composed! 🙂

    Reply
    • Ah thank you! I really didn’t notice how good it was until months later when I was sorting through them all, so it’s totally fluke. But yes it is really lovely isn’t it. Thanks for stopping by. x

      Reply
  2. Oh my god, this truly looks like paradise! Islands in the Pacific are an absolute dream destination for me, partly because I feel that it’s as far away from Europe as possible and the thought kind of appeals to me. Lucky you! 🙂

    I took some of my favorite travel pictures so far in Scotland last year. Quite different from the Pacific, obviously, but the nature was beautiful: http://www.melaniefontaine.com/search/label/Scotland

    Norway has also been great in terms of photography, but I haven’t posted about it as much yet.

    xx
    Melanie

    Reply
    • It really was, I definitely have to go back at some point in my life. You’re right is is so far removed from Europe which is what makes it so appealing. I love your pictures of Scotland, so beautiful. I’ve only ever been to Edinburgh so going elsewhere in Sctoland to see the beautiful countryside really appeals, I’ll just have to add it to my wishlist! x

      Reply
  3. These photos are simply stunning! I’ve never been there but would love to go one day! My friend lived there for a year or so and eventually moved to Vanuatu, which also looks so beautiful and serene.
    http://www.phuketfamily.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • Ah thanks, yes I am quite pleased with the pictures. Looking at them just makes me want to go straight back! Your friend is so lucky to have been there for a year as it really is a beautiful country. I wish we’d been there for longer! Thanks for stopping by. xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

