Wow I’m actually quite surprised! aka September’s budget

Happy September budget day everyone – how are you all? Welcome to the latest addition of budget blogging where somehow I managed to have a good month! Once you’ve picked yourself up off the floor in shock, we can continue! I honestly felt like I had a dreadful clothes month so I’m frankly quite shocked by this amazing piece of news! I don’t know how this happened to be honest, I think it helped that I got given a lot of clothes as gifts this month and that I was on holiday for a week, but even so I feel like I’ve spent loads, perhaps I’ve miscalculated and actually missed off a few things – it is possible I suppose…
Anyway the verdict is that I’ve spent £92.75 in total and I actually earned £30 (selling shoes and other items on eBay), so in the end I only spent £62.75. Which is like 50% less than I said I would – wowzers. Big pat on the back to me then. So enough about the money, let’s get to the good stuff, what I actually bought!
September budget 1

1. Always Skinny Jeans, Gap, £30 (price with 25% off code) – I can’t seem to say no to Gap at the moment so when there was a 25% off code AND free delivery on the site I was all over it! I love my current skinnies so I thought some new ones were in order. These aren’t quite as comfy as the ones I already worn (maybe because I need to wear them in…) but they look great on and will be perfect with boots this winter.

 

2. Shorts, Fat Face, £29 (price with £6 off) – These shorts were an impulse buy at the airport before my flight to Portugal as I frankly just needed some shorts for the trip. I didn’t have any shorts that fitted so these were a lifesaver – they’re super comfy, finish below my fat thighs and were worn pretty much the entire trip. so essentially I’ve already worn them enough to justify it!

 

3. Ugg Boots, Free! – My lovely Mum and sis came back from Australia earlier this month so I was gifted lots of lovely things – the first ones were these gorgeous boots. I did specify that these were the ones I wanted, but I didn’t expect them to get me the ‘proper’ ones, they are just to kind. These boots fit perfectly and are so comfy. I’m definitely going to be wearing these a lot over the next few months!

 

4. Slobbing Trousers, Cotton On, Free! – These trousers are amazing, so comfy and perfect for slobbing round the house or popping out to the shop in. Yet another item from the Australia trip peeps, aren’t they kind.


september budget 2

5. Heather grey v-neck Tshirt, Gap, £7.50 (price with 25% off code) – I’ve been living in my bright pink version of this so I jumped at the chance to get more when the latest Gap sale occurred. Since it arrived I’ve worn it constantly with a succession of bright necklaces and my skinnies. Definitely a top that is super simple and easy to pull off but that looks more exciting for the effort you’ve put in!

6. Dotty Dress, Cotton On, Free! – This dress was picked up by the relatives on their Aussie trip and I absolutely love it. It’s just so me and again easy to wear and it looks more special than the effort I put into it. I think this dress proves my family know me so well as I would totally buy this had I been out in Oz and people at work assumed I’d had it for ages as it was just so me. That makes me smile!

7. White v-neck Tshirt, Gap, £7.50 (price with 25% off code) – A white version of the heather grey t and another wardrobe essential – you’ve gotta love a Gap basic.

8. Pointelle Sweater, Gap, £18.75 (price with 25% off code) – This was a total impulse buy in the Gap sale. I couldn’t say no when I saw it as I liked the pattern and I adored the cobalt blue colour and I’m just so glad it fitted perfectly when it arrived. A perfect jumper for this Autumn, I can’t wait to get wearing in on a weekly basis!

So there we have it my monthly budget, not something that will set the world on fire I know but definitely a set of essentials that I’ll wear constantly for the next few months and I saved myself a bundle too – woop woop! What about you, how did your budget fare this month? Was it a good or bad budget month?

Oh and of course as per usual I’m linking up with Franish and the rest of the lovely budgeting bloggers.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I love love those printed pants! And that polka dot dress – so cute! Good job staying much further under budget than you thought. That is such a good feeling!

    Reply
    • Thanks, the trousers are super comfy and that dress is a total dream to wear. I’m so glad I got them! Yes very pleased to be under budget although I’ll probably go over next month to compensate!

      Reply
  2. You got a TON and great savings! This month my sis gifted me a pair of TOMS so I can totally relate. It feels like shopping, but it isn’t…

    Reply
    • Agree such a great shopping haul and free stuff is the best. I’m rather jealous of your Toms if I’m honest though!

      Reply
  3. way to go lady! don’t you just love it when you get a bunch, but don’t actually pay a ton?

    Reply
    • Yep favourite thing ever! Though something tells me October won’t be quiet as satisfying/cheap!

      Reply
    • Yep isn’t it the best! I’m not sure next month will be quite as good though!

      Reply
  4. Great finds – can’t believe those uggs – AWESOME gift. My budget wasn’t great. I need to reign in my spending for sure – even though I almost exclusively shop at thrift stores and vintage stores. Check out my budget here: http://sandpaperkissesblog.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/september-2013-fashion-budget/

    Reply
    • I know I couldn’t believe it myself when I saw them – amazing indeed! Sometimes you just can’t say no to certain things, no matter what your budget is, but hey at least you have some awesome stuff to show for it. And who knows maybe next month will be better. xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

