Pinterest Corner #31 – Wool Letters

Hi lovely blog readers, how are you this fine Wednesday? I hope you’re as excited as me that it’s that time again; it’s Pinterest Corner day, hooray!  This month’s Pinterest Corner is one that I’m so super excited to share with you. I’m just so pleased with how it’s turned out and it makes me smile to look at the finished items. Also it’s a project that I’ve been meaning to get around to for almost a year, which makes it even more brilliant that I’ve now done it! [Yes I am a bit of  a star when it comes to procrastination].

Anyway back to what I’ve actually crafted! Ages ago I saw this image on Pinterest and I absolutely fell in love with the idea of wool wrapped letters. Not only do the woolly letters look really beautiful – see the original pinners version below – I thought they also looked really easy to do. I also loved that you could choose any words or wool colour you wanted and it would still look really cool.

letters2

source

Once I’d pinned the image, I promptly forgot about this crafty project until I just happened to be in the world’s most amazing shop AKA Hobbycraft last September. As I was ambling around with nothing specific to buy I happened upon a number of cardboard letters and I knew they’d be perfect for this project – so much better than making the letters from scratch, especially for a lazy bones like me. Can you imagine when I’d be writing this post if I hadn’t found these letters? Probably sometime in 2015! I also found the lilac and purple wool in the sale on the same day for just 99p a ball, which is my sort of craft item: colourful and cheap! Here are the six items before I got started on the project:

IMG_5444

So now we need to fast forward about eight or nine months to May time when I started the wrapping of the wool. I decided to start with the ‘H’ as I thought that would be the easiest letter, and I think it was. I think if I’d started with the ‘M’ I’d have never finished this project – it was that bad! It was a very simple technique, after using masking tape to secure the end of the wool I got wrapping and wrapping and wrapping. I was really surprised about how long it took to finish just one letter. It felt like I was wool wrapping for about a year on just the ‘H’, talk about repetitive! To be fair I don’t think I had the best technique at the start and I probably should have checked out the tutorial on the original pin as I only noticed that they’d put smaller bits of wool on each end after the ‘H’ – that would most certainly have helped! Anyway I like how the ‘H’ turned out even if it does have about three different layers of wool going on!

Last month I finally picked up the rest of the wool and the other letters and made a start on them. This time I focused on the ends of the ‘M’ and ‘E’ first, before going up and along both letters. I feel like I finally reached a rhythm after the second letter and started to find it all rather therapeutic. It is also a great craft project for sitting in front of the TV as you don’t have to look at the wool or letters all the time. The’O’ was actually the easiest letter of all as there are no ends, all you had to deal with was the small hole in the middle. But that was fixed by working with smaller balls of wool, simple. So after about five hours of wrapping I’m now left with these four lovely letters – what do you think? Do you like them?

20130826-155124.jpg

Yes they might not be absolutely perfect, but I quite like that as it shows that they are handmade and lovingly so.  I’m still toying with where they should now live, but I quite like the idea of propping them on my headboard – I think they look rather nice. What do you think?

20130826-155115.jpgSo what do you think about wool letters? Are you inclined to give them a try yourself and if so, what word would you go for?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I really like this idea! I may have to try it with some stash yarn.

    Reply
  2. They turned out great! Love the colors you chose.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

