Let’s fly, let’s fly away.

Now that I’m back from Portugal I don’t have any trips abroad planned (thanks to a depleted bank balance), so I thought I’d take the chance in today’s link up to Travel Tuesday to share the five places I most want to visit. This list is forever changing as let’s be honest there are loads of fabulous places out there. So I don’t expect this will stay the same for long, but for now I’m dreaming of packing a suitcase and visiting these lovely looking places.

The Great Ocean Road – I’m lucky enough to have been to Australia a number of times and I’ve had a ball each and every time. But I’ve never made it to The Great Ocean Road. I long to just hire a car with no thought as to where we’ll stop and just get going on this 151 mile stretch of Australia. I want to see the charming seaside villages along the coast, explore the small towns and cities like Geelong, admire the stunning vistas and see the famed apostles and everything else that this amazing area has to offer. One day.

The Twelve Apostles, Great Ocean Road, Australia -- Find great travel deals & discounts on http://www.studentrate.com/studentrate/School/Deals/Travel.aspx #travel #world #trips #vacation

source

Canada – I know this is quite a sweeping place to mention, I mean it’s a massive country, but I can’t choose just one area I’m afraid! I want to visit the amazing capilano suspension bridge to view the rainforest from up high, I want to kayak around the untouched wilderness on Vancouver Island, ski in Whistler, spot polar bears and whales in Hudson Bay, visit the beautiful and exciting city of Vancouver, view the staggeringly impressive Niagara Falls in Ontario, see stunning vistas in the Rockies, visit Montreal the world’s second largest french speaking city and so so much more. It sounds like a stunningly beautiful and interesting country.

We would love this view out of our windows! Sunset over the winter scenery along the coast of Hudson Bay in Manitoba, Canada.

source

Seattle – Ever since I first watched Grey’s Anatomy I’ve been determined to get to Seattle. Not because I assume I’ll get to meet Jackson and the rest of the Grey’s Anatomy cast but because it looks like such an awesome city!  It’s got the ferry boats, impressive buildings and is close to amazing forests, what’s not to love?

Seattle skyline from a different perspective.

source

Zanzibar – I don’t know what there is to see in Zanzibar apart from lounge on the beaches and take in the history of the island, but for me that’s plenty. It sounds like such an exotic place so I really do want to see it for myself.

Zanzibar, Tanzania:

source

New York – I’ve been to New York a few times but what I really would love is to visit it at Christmas. I can’t even imagine how wonderfully magical the city would be with all the decorations and fairy lights, I think I would be in heaven. I would love to see the shops all filled with Christmas stuff, to ice skate in central park with Christmas songs playing and to sip hot chocolates underneath the shadow of the beautiful Rockefeller tree. Blissful.

Christmas in New York City (Rockefeller center), I really hope we can make it to New York city this Christmas!

source

A Compass Rose
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. These all sound like marvelous places to visit–especially Zanzibar! I hope you get to fly your heart out soon 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks, I do too. But I fear it’s unlikely. Zanzibar is one of those places that just sounds awesome and sends my mind spiralling towards colourful adventures and beautiful sunshine. One day I’ll make it there!

      Reply
  2. My husband wants our next trip to be to Seattle! I’d never really thought of it as a destination, but I’ll have to look up ideas for things to do there.

    Reply
  3. Hi! I’m a new reader over from the Travel Tuesday link up 🙂 I am so with you on Zanzibar…we wanted to go on our honeymoon but it was rainy season so decided against it. It looks so beautiful though so it’s a definite must visit at some point!

    Kam | A Married Couple & Their Travels

    Reply
    • I think I would have had to reschedule the wedding if that had happened! No seriously though doesn’t it sound just wonderful.

      Reply
  4. I would love to go to Zanzibar as well! Also, Niagara Falls in Canada is pretty amazing and you definitely have to see NYC, especially at Christmas time, it is amazing!

    Reply
    • I’m so jealous you’ve seen the falls as well as NYC at Christmas, you lucky lucky thing. I’m glad they’re as amazing as I’m imagining!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

