Augusts reads – five brilliant books

A good book is very magical

The wisest of woods from the queen of writing – J. K. Rowling. (source)

Before I sat down to write this post I thought I’d read barely anything in August, hence why this post is arriving a week into September. As really what’s the point of updating you on my reading challenge when I haven’t got anything to update on? However, I then realised the point of this blog and in particular this challenge was to up date you on my reading habits on a monthly basis, it was a way of being held accountable for my reading. If I want to start a challenge – then surely I have to finish it. So I got over myself and got writing, only to realise I’d been wrong. I actually had a good reading month! After all five books is really quite a good amount for just one month. Although really if I think about it I’ve not read anything for most of the month, as the first three books were read in just one week. Thank goodness Wales happened as since then I’ve been finding it really hard to get into any book I pick up. I’m hoping that with my upcoming week in Portugal things will improve after all I’ll have lots of time and not a lot else to focus on (apart from food!), here’s hoping that plan works anyway! So what did I think about the five books that I did read, well…

  1. First up was the work manuscript, which I obviously can’t tell you about as it’s not out till next year, but it was honestly such a brilliant read! It’s the third book in a brilliant series, and I’m so pleased that this book doesn’t disappoint, it’s really very good.
  2. Book number two was Heroes of Olympus: Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan. I’ve mentioned in the past how much I enjoy these books and this still stands. It was really good to learn more about the characters and see how the story is developing. I can’t wait to read book three as I think it’s going to be brilliant when the two groups of characters start working together – I think we’re in for some trials and tribulations, and of course humour. Oh I love these books.
  3. Harlan Coben is one of my favourite crime writers, and Six Years is another excellent book. It really does keep you guessing until the end and he creates a really interesting character who is faced with some really interesting situations and decisions. I can’t even fathom how you would react when finding out some of the things he does. I highly recommend it!
  4. The Enemy by Charlie Higson – This book was truly amazing, I loved it! It’s a books with such brilliant writing and a great story, coupled with hideously gory parts (so gory that I almost felt sick!). It’s also a wonderfully interesting concept, which has you second guessing what you would do in a similar situation – I still don’t know. I also couldn’t help but loving all the characters. My final thought on this book is how it reminds me so much with Lord of the Flies, in the way that it gives children responsibility and questions how they would react.
  5. Last weekend I finished Private Down Under, which is by James Patterson. I’m a big fan of the Private series and you’ll be pleased to know that this book is just as good as the rest of the books in the series. The best thing about this book – apart from the fast pace, interesting characters and intriguing cases – is that it’s reminded me how much I want to go back to Sydney. I love that city so much and it’s great to read about areas that I know, even if only a little.

So that’s what I’ve been reading – what about you, what did you read in August and what did you think about each book? I’d love to know!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I just finished re-reading The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz ZafĂłn. (I’m reading the second book now, and I’m not entirely sure if it’s a prequel or sequel.) It’s one of my favorites, and I’m completely in love with ZafĂłn’s prose. It’s a foreign mystery that is both gripping and lovely.

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by! Oh I keep meaning to read The Shadow of Wind, I really must get on with that – I keep hearing loads about of good things about it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

