Travel Tuesday: A family trip to Portugal

I’m lucky enough to have visited lots of lovely places in my 28 years on this planet – I’ve enjoyed everything from city breaks and beach resorts to road trips and glorious scenery. Weirdly I haven’t reminisced about one of those trips for a while as I tend to go on them, enjoy a wonderful time, snap lots of pictures and then jump straight back into everyday life. I think this needs to change, so I thought I’d take part in the Travel Tuesday link up that Bonnie and Belinda organise. I love reading their weekly posts, so why not share my own? I’m off to Portugal soon, so I thought whaat better place to start? Read on for some Portugal love about the last time I was out there back in September 2012.

I went out for a week to Vale do Lobo in the Algarve to spend some lovely family time with my parents, sisters and Greg, the littlest sister’s boyfriend. It was so chilled out and relaxed, it was one of the best weeks I’ve had in Portugal, and considering I’ve been about twenty times that’s saying a lot. The great thing about Portugal is that as I go fairly regularly and have done since I was about five, it means that I know the area like the back of my hand.  I always feel settled and in holiday mode as soon as I arrive, which I think we can all agree makes a big difference when the point of your trip is to relax thoroughly. In terms of what we got up to on or holiday; it was all about the eating, the exploring, the card games, the running, the go karting, visiting a nature reserve and the sunbathing. The perfect sunny holiday really! I won’t go in to masses of detail on the whole week, as I will find it hard to keep this post short(!), instead I’ll let the pictures do the talking!

431210_762723206659_38840445_n

Setting the world to rights over the BBQ

The Mothership and me with drinks and cards

539545_762723905259_894161219_n

Go karting fun

This was the first time we’d been go karting in Portugal and it was so much fun! I was perhaps a little more restrained than others, but I still enjoyed it. Lets be fair I can’t help it if I’m a little bit of a scaredy cat when it comes to things like speed.

Late night cocktails

Late night cocktails

A glorious view

A glorious view

Gorgeous weather

Gorgeous weather

I love the colours in this picture – the bright blues, deep greens and creamy buildings. So beautiful.

More Uno!

More Uno!

All dressed up for dinner

All dressed up for dinner

Me and Lau

Me and Lau

and relax...

and relax…

Chilling by the pool

Chilling by the pool

Sun shade

Sun shade

Hello!

Hello!

It's all about the sunglasses

It’s all about the sunglasses!

An amble through the nature reserve

An amble through the nature reserve

Smiley sisters

Smiley sisters

The local nature reserve

The local nature reserve

Beautiful scenery

Beautiful scenery

More cocktails

More cocktails

Lots of cocktails

Lots of cocktails

I can’t wait to go back to Portugal soon, it’s going to be brilliant to have a chilled out few days in the sun (hopefully) and not have to do anything but relax. Let the countdown begin, only thirteen more sleeps to go…

A Compass Rose
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I love Portugal! It’s such a cool country. Looks like you had an awesome time!

    Reply
    • Isn’t it, I love it so much! We did indeed have a brilliant time. I can’t wait to go back!

      Reply
  2. What a beautiful and relaxing place to visit! It’s pouring rain where I live so seeing little glimpses into sunny Portugal is making me very jealous 🙂 I adore Portugal and will have to put this on my list for our next trip!

    Reply
    • It really is and I definitely recommend it – it’s thoroughly relaxing! Thankfully no rain here, but I’m sure it’s only a matter of time. Enjoy your escapes to other countries! x

      Reply
  3. Your time in Portugal sounds really relaxing and fun. I’ve never been, but looks like a place we may need to add to our travel list. Found you on the Travel Tuesday Blog Hop and am now a follower on Bloglovin’, hope you’ll check out our new travel blog as well:

    http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/9780329

    Reply
    • Thanks for popping by and for following. I will definitely check out your blog too. Portugal is lovely, so I definitely reccomend it. The beaches are beautiful and clean and the rest of the scenery is also stunning. Have a great weekend. x

      Reply
  4. I def want to make it to Portugal! Love your sunny photos!

    Reply
    • DO IT! It’s such a lovely country: the food is delicious, the scenery beautiful and the sunshine is wonderful. I’ve just got back from a week there, it was glorious. What a shame I’m not there now…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

