Holiday Packing: The Books

So I’m off to Wales next week and I’m so excited it’s actually ridiculous! I’ve not been for a week away in the UK for I don’t know how long and I cannot wait to just laze on the beach, eat yummy food, spend time with my family and ultimately relax. I’ve been so busy over the last few weeks that I can’t wait to have a week of calmer stuff, I’m so looking forward to it that I don’t even care if the weather is rubbish! After all I can do all of the above things even if I’m stuck inside. I’ve not actually started the packing process yet, because you know that just involves too much thought. But I have started to think about packing certain things, perhaps the most important thing – the books! This is after all an integral part of the trip, so it does involve serious thought! I’ve settled on half and half – so half physical books (some of my heavy hardbacks which are a nightmare on a commute) and half on my kindle. So these are the ‘proper’ books that I’m taking with me.

photo

Anansi Boys, Neil Gaiman – I’ve been meaning to read a Neil Gaiman book for so long as I’ve heard so much good stuff about them and recently I purchased a few of his books online. This is the only one that’s a hardback and heavy so it seems the perfect option for Wales. I really hope it lives up to my high expectations, not just because I’ve got another three books by him at home, but because I want to love his work and appreciate it in the way that so many others do.

Heroes of Olympus: Son of Poseidon, Rick Riordan – I’m a little obsessed with Rick Riordan’s writing and I’m flabbergasted that I haven’t yet read this book – it’s been out for years so I’ve go no excuse!

Six years, Harlan Coben – I love a Harlan Coben story and I picked up his latest when on my way to Dublin a few weeks ago. I’ve not yet read it because it’s a hefty tome and too much weight to be lugging around all day in this heat. But on holiday when I plan on moveing from beach to sofa to bed, it’ll be perfect.

Not Without You, Harriet Evans – Harriet Evans’ books are the perfect beach side reads, so I’ve been saving her latest novel for just this eventuality. Coupled with an ice cream it’ll make the perfect afternoon at the beach even better.

The Enemy, Charlie Higson – This has been on my list forever, so I’m going to tick it off over the holiday…hopefully

As for the Kindle books, what do I have on there I hear you ask? Well to be honest I have 58 unread books on my Kindle – yes seriously. I honestly didn’t realise it was that many – I’m a total book-a-holic clearly. There are a couple of manuscripts that I want to read from work, but there are also some other books on there that need to be read. I think the next ones on my list are:

The Knife of Never Letting Go, Patrick Ness – Another writer that I’ve been meaning to read for ages – I think I bought this book at least a year or go, oops!

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Rachel Joyce – This book sounds so good and has received rave reviews, plus I love the sound of her new novel (it’s on my Amazon wishlist for Christmas already) so I need to read this before I get that one.

The Casual Vacancy, J. K. Rowling – I love Harry Potter (no secret there) and so I’m so intrigued to read this novel. It’ll be interesting to read a book by J.K. Rowling which doesn’t include her famous characters and judge her writing on her skill and not get caught up in my love for those characters.

The Silver Linings Playbook, Matthew Quick – Another book I’ve heard loads about – all good – so I figure I should see for myself what all the fuss is about. And I can also visualise Bradley Cooper as I read – perfect!

Something tells me I’ll be busy on this holiday, after all I’ve nine books (and two manuscripts) to read. Bring it on I say! What about you, what have you been reading and do you have any top recommendations?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

