Six Month Booky Update

So yes my book updating posts haven’t been that frequent have they – in fact I haven’t discussed what I’ve read since March, where just one book was mentioned. Oops, sorry about that. What can I say I’ve certainly struggled a lot with getting in to books over the past few months/ Thankfully though this issue has been rectified and I’m now back on a book reading train, although I’m still three books behind where I should be if I want to meet my 52 books in a year goal. But I’ve not given up hope. After all I’ve got two one week holidays to come in the second half of the year, so I should be fine. *crosses fingers hopefully* So back to what I’ve been reading over the last three months, this glorious array of brilliant books. For thoughts on each book, check out the mini book reviews below. But if you really don’t care what I think about just have a gander at the pretty pictures below – let’s be honest I can get a smidge carried away with the waffle in reviews!

Safe House, Chris Ewan – This book took me a while to get into if I’m honest and I’m not really sure why. It was a good story, I liked the characters and it was great that it wasn’t immediately obvious where the story was going, yet something stopped me from giving it 3/5 stars on the Good Reads site. I’m damned if I know what that is but I’ll just have to deal with that – although I do hate when I can’t put my finger on something!

After the Fall, Charity Norman – I LOVED this book! I was given it for my birthday as it was mentioned over on this post, but it’s taken me a while to get round to it. It was really enjoyable. It follows the story of a family who move out to New Zealand for new opportunities and a (supposedly) better life. They get a lot more than they expect and we follow their story from a series of flashbacks after a terrible accident. What makes it really interesting is that you don’t know if certain characters are good or bad, if there was an accident or if it was on purpose and there are some brilliant twists. The story is really well written and the characters are not altogether that likeable which sometimes books stay too focused on. I’d definitely recommend this book to everyone I know.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Roald Dahl – I had a bit of a Dahl moment over the last few months, as you’ll spot two of his tales on this list. To be honest sometimes you need to read something that reminds you of your childhood and that’s comforting. that’s what this book is all about – I absolutely love it and think it’s a deserved classic.

Don’t Want to Miss a Thing, Jill Mansell – I mentioned in a past post that I love Jill Mansell’s books and even mentioned I wanted to get my hands on this book. Thankfully I did and I’ve read it and I (as per usual) loved it. I love a good story, with a happy ending, nice characters and also a book that does what it should – thoroughly entertains you. This is the book that got me back on my reading pathway. It’s brilliant.

The Lost Symbol, Dan Brown – Around all the hype of Dan Brown’s newest book, Inferno, I realised that I still hadn’t read his last one. Considering the books are all part of the Robert Langdon story I knew that needed to be rectified immediately. 600+ pages later and I’d read it. tO say I was disappointed wouldn’t be right but it definitely didn’t consume me as his other books have in the past. I’m not sure why I’d not noticed it before, but Dan Brown does like to waffle on a lot doesn’t he? And it’s not often entirely necessary – I have to admit I did skip a fair few paragraphs where he was droning on and on, but I still understood everything that was happening. Maybe next time he could do with being edited a smidge more!

Esio Trot, Roald Dahl- I can’t believe I’ve never read this book before – I loved it. It was an absolute joy, not that I’m  surprised. Dahl is a storytelling genius after all.

Picture Me Gone, Meg Rosoff- This is the first Meg Rosoff book I’ve ever read, much to the outrage of many of my work colleagues. But having read this book I can now see why they are so annoyed. Meg Rosoff is a brilliant writer – the voice she writes is beautiful. The characters are interesting, the story lovely and just generally brilliant. Definitely a must read when it’s available later in the year.

Vampire Academy and Vampire Academy: Frostbite, Richelle Mead – I’m a big Richelle Mead having fallen madly in love with her Bloodlines books a couple of years back, but I’ve never really tried her first series, Vampire Academy. With the film adaptation of book one coming out soon I thought I should give it a whirl and I’m so pleased I did as it’s such a good read. I love the world she’s created and the characters are brilliant. She’s got such a great range of characters in her book and I am enjoying finding out more about the characters I know so well from Bloodlines and how they ended up where they are at the start of Bloodlines. So just another few books to get through in the series (not that I’m complaining)!

NYPD Red, James Patterson – I haven’t read a JP book for an age, and I’m definitely glad to be back on this particular train. I love the page turning ability that JP has and I like that has introduced us to a new set of characters, even if some of the situations aren’t all together believable! We’ll let him off though!

How I Live Now, Meg Rosoff – I loved Picture Me Gone so much that I had to give another Meg Rosoff a try. I chose this one as the film’s out soon and I’m a firm believer of reading the book before watching the film. Also my friend at work is such a fan of this book that she rereads it each year and is flabbergasted I’ve never read it. She loves it so much that she doesn’t want to know if I don’t like it as she won’t be able to bear it. Uh oh the pressure! So far I’m really enjoying it. Again Meg Rosoff has written a brilliant character in daisy and is exploring some truly massive subjects. It’s really good and not what I was expecting plot wise. I can’t wait to find out what happens to Piper, Daisy, et al!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

