Touristy tales. Take two.

Days three and four of our touristy trip were based around the wonderful sites in Wiltshire. I have to admit that I’ve not been down that way and done the touristy thing for years – I think the last time was about 15 years ago. So needless to say I was very, very excited about our impending trip. So here’s what we got up to on our trip to Wiltshire:

  • The Royal Baths – These are absolutely fascinating. The stonework is so intricate and beautiful and I find it amazing that the baths have survived, intact for such a long time. Even if they were hidden for quite a while. The colour of the water and stone carvings was so unusual and beautiful too. Once again we had brilliant audio guides, so that was once again fascinating. 
  • The Abbey – Isn’t it a lovely looking building? We didn’t go into it but we ate our picnic in its shadow and it really was beautiful to see it from the Royal Baths.
  • The Royal Crescent – this street is absolutely gorgeous and I’m always amazed when I see pictures of it. I can’t believe it’s so absolutely perfect.
  • We stayed at a beautiful hotel in Limpley Stoke – check out the stunning views from our bedroom window. Also there was a gorgeous little pub just a stones throw away from it, which was perfect for dinner. Sometimes you just can’t beat a quaint English country pub.
  • Stonehenge – Whilst I can appreciate how impressive these stones are, as to move anything of that size in the time that they did is quite a feat, I just don’t understand what it’s all about. Was it a form of calendar, totally fluke or something else entirely. I can’t stand the ambiguity, I need to know. Anyway it was good to see Stonehenge and I’m glad it wasn’t too expensive, but I really wish it hadn’t been raining the entire time. I’m not sure my Aztec pumps will ever be the same again! 
  • Marlborough – We stopped off at Marlborough on our way home and it’s such a beautiful little market town. Plus there was a gorgeous food market on at the time, so we of course treated ourselves to cake and cheese. The smoked mozzarella is insanely good and I’ve been enjoying it ever since!
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. The little things cheering me up this week | fisdailyponderings

Leave a Reply

