Letting Go

React to this term: Letting Go

I think I’ve mentioned in the past that I’m not good at letting go. This very clearly stems from my refusal to lose control in any situation as I worry too much about the what ifs. Whenever I’m presented with something that is out of my control, or different I find myself asking a mix of questions, such as: ‘Will I look like an idiot if I do this?’, ‘Will I know what to do?’, ‘Will I be good at this new sport/activity?’, ‘Will I do it right?’, ‘Will the bungee rope break?’, ‘What if this makes me ill?’, ‘Will I like it if this ride goes too fast?’ or ‘Will this new person think I’m a complete imbecile if I just start talking to them?’. I know it’s an illogical fear as in reality what’s the worse that can happen, so I do try to let go of these fears at times and I am often pleasantly surprised at what I achieve or how much enjoyment I get. But no matter the positives of an experience there’s still that concern and worry the next time I’m presented with something new and unusual.

Admittedly this isn’t the best post I’ve ever written, but it’s possibly one of the most honest, as I know that my inability to let go of my fears is a huge issue if I don’t want to miss out on things and it’s honestly something I’m working hard on. but it’s most definitely a work in progress.


Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I can totally relate to this as well. I hate letting go and having no control. It is a horrible feeling, but it will also help us be free. Thanks for sharing and best of luck with everything 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

