Think before you speak

Blog every day in May challenge, day 25 – something someone told you about yourself that you’ll never forget (good or bad)

Whilst pondering this post, which I’ve been doing for the last week or so, I came to the conclusion that my memory is shocking. I don’t seem to be able to remember anything important these days. Don’t get me wrong I remember some stuff, I don’t have Alzheimers after all. The things I remember though are not necessarily the big things (or the things that are pertinent for the Blog every day in May challenge), they are things like the name of the song that’s on a certain episode of Grey’s, what Ross says in reply to Rachel in an episode of Friends series seven or which film has starred both Hugh Grant and Mandy Moore (do you know?!). But when it comes to remembering things about my life I have a much harder time. I mean take today’s task, I’m struggling to think of much at all. My silly mind isn’t quite playing ball! Eventually I managed to come up with something that has always stuck in my mind.

‘Your sarcasm will get you into trouble one day, if you don’t think before you speak.’

This gem comes from my dad who it seems was proved right a few times since this statement was made, as I do have a tendency to make a silly sarcastic remark without thought and then people are offended. A prime example of this was a conversation I had with a friend at university where I effectively called her a slut, oops. Clearly that wasn’t my intention but nonetheless that’s what it sounded like. Ever since that incident I’ve tried to think before I speak, but inevitably it doesn’t always work. But hey at least I’m trying!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. My family says I’m “blunt”. I prefer to say I’m outspoken. Sounds better LoL!

    Reply
    • I agree outspoken is a much better term than outspoken. I also like to think I’m just honest which is most definitly a good thing – unless there’s such a thing as too honest?!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

