Favourite quotes – decisions, decisions

Choosing just one favourite quote for day three of Blog every day in May is a hard one I have to admit. I’m definitely one of those people that collects quotes like others collect handbags or nice crockery. Case in point I have an entire Pinterest board dedicated to quotes (currently at 71 pins) and I’ve also kept a quote book since I was sixteen, just so I don’t lose or forget a favourite quote. Some of my all-time favourite quotes are below:

The most wasted day of all is that on which we have not laughed. – anon

We’ve all got both light and dark inside of us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are. – Sirius Black (J. K. Rowling)

Let me get this straight. You know her. She knows you. But she wants to eat him. And everybody’s okay with this? DID I MISS SOMETHING! – Timon, The Lion King

Spend life with who makes you happy, not who you have to impress – anon

Left side, strong side – Remember the Titans

Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about the things that matter. – Martin Luther King

It is my belief that the truth is generally preferable to lies – Albus Dumbledore (J. K. Rowling)

If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face life sunbeams and you will always look lovely – Roald Dahl

We must all face the choice between what is right and what is easy. – Albus Dumbledore (J. K. Rowling)

But I think my all time favourite quote has to be the below. Not just because it’s from one of my favourite films or because it’s spoken by the lovely Hugh Grant *swoons* but because it is a sentiment that we could all do with remembering from time to time. When we’re having a bad day, when we lose perspective or we just need a smile it really is helpful to remember the sentiment expressed below:

20130502-200533.jpg

Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often, it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends. When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know, none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge – they were all messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaky feeling you’ll find that love actually is all around.



 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

