What on earth do I know that’s share-worthy?

So for day two of Jenni’s Blog Every Day in May challenge, the task is to educate others on something you know a lot about or are good at. To be honest I’m struggling somewhat on this one as I’m not sure I have anything that’s worth sharing with you lovely people. Last night I had a bit of a brainstorm about what I know a lot about and what I’m good at and below is the list that I ended up with:

  • I know all the lyrics to every song in every Disney film released between 1990 and 2005
  • I’m pretty good at working out the number of degrees of separation between various obscure celebrities – go on I dare you, test me
  • Singing the Wicked soundtrack at the top of my lungs, not even slightly on key
  • I am fairly knowledgeable about the calorie content of lots of foods: Barbecue Popchips = 95, a jacket potato = equal to its weight, cup of spinach = 7, a ready salted Pringle = approx. 10
  • I’m good at buying new books when I already have 100 to read
  • I’m pretty skilled at losing 6 hours of my day to social media
  • I can recite word for word the entirety of Ocean’s 11, North and South, Love Actually, Notting Hill and *whispers* Ocean’s 12
  • Being stubborn
  • I can spend an entire day on the sofa without getting bored
  • Baking (anything and everything)
  • Waffling – in person, on the phone, via email or on social media (Twitter is sometimes a nightmare for me, I’m not good at being succinct)
  • Losing my willpower where a pair of shoes or a bar of chocolate is involved
  • Sarcasm – I blame my Dad
  • Getting competitive when there’s an Evans family board game night

So looking back at that list in the cold light of day I realise that the one thing that I could impart knowledge and that might potentially lighten and brighten up your day is my baking skills. For those that don’t know I have a second blog – cookbakeandeat.wordpress.com – where I share all my foodie ramblings as well as a fair few recipes, so in the cold light of day (i.e. when my brain has engaged) it seems logical to share one of those recipes with you. So after much deliberation I’ve gone with the scrumptious Sticky Gingerbread cake recipe from the blog, which is a little out of season as it’s quite a Christmassy recipe BUT I don’t care as it’s one of my favourite treats so I’m guessing you might all like it.

20121216-214403.jpgSo for a cake that’s super soft, squishy, rich, moist and one that has a yummy treacly gingerbready taste simply grab the following ingredients:
150g Butter
200g Golden Ssyrup
200g Black Treacle
125g Dark Muscovado Sugar
2 tsps Ground Ginger
1 tsp Ground Cinnamon
1/4 tsp Ground Cloves
1 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda, dissolved in 2 x 15ml tbsps warm water
250ml Full-Fat Milk
2 Eggs, beaten
300g Plain Flour

and then…

  • Melt the butter, sugar, syrup, treacle, ground ginger, cinnamon and cloves all together on a low heat
  • Remove from the heat and add the milk, eggs and dissolved bicarbonate of soda along with its water
  • Beat the flour and all the liquid ingredients together until well mixed
  • Pour the mixture into a tin lined with baking parchment. We used a tin that was approximately 30cm x 22cm x 7cm)
  • Bake on 170°c for 50-60 minutes until the cake has risen and firm on top
  • Once cooked leave to cool in the tin before cutting into squares (we made about 30 squares of cake)

This is originaly a Nigella Lawson recipe , so I can’t take any of the credit when I introduce this too you but I do hope you agree that I have imparted worthwhile knowledge. I think this recipe was definitely an improvement on any other tip sharing that I could have done, as they would have been related to sarcasm, book buying or Disney songs – so I think you got a good deal in the end!



Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

