Food Glorious Food

The last week before the long weekend was a flurry of gym sessions, hideous amounts of work, a West Wing-a-thon, brainstorming sessions and dinner with friends (note to self: don’t choose the salad at Pizza Express it is certainly NOT the healthy option!). It was pretty much the perfect lead up to a long weekend really!

As for the long weekend itself, it was all about the food for me, never mind the religious aspect of it, I don’t know how this always ends up being the case but I’m certainly not complaining! The gluttony started on Thursday night with a Chinese takeaway, before the creation of a hot cross bun and butter pudding, chocolate and orange hot cross buns (both made by my own fair hands and both truly scrumptious), sausage rolls, vegetable soup, a ma-hoo-sive chicken and ham pie and mash and chocolate fudge cake pops which were all consumed when the Evans cousins popped by. I don’t think I’ve eaten so much and laughed so much (thanks to Wii Mario Kart) in ages – such a lovely way to spend Good Friday!

Saturday saw the consumption of more homemade goodies – hello delicious coronation chicken, a cooked breakfast and steak and chips – the return of Doctor who (WOOHOO!!) and a lovely wander around Wisley RHS Gardens. I love that place so much, it’s full of so many gorgeous flowers and the rockery is a brilliant feat of design and architecture.

Finally, what better way to spend Easter Sunday than down at Gunwharf Quays? Yep I can’t think of anything else I’d rather do either! It was actually amazingly quiet and I managed not to spend a fortune – an amazing feat. All I picked up were lots of Cadbury’s goodies, including Praline Fingers (who knew such things even existed!?!) and some running stuff – an early birthday present from the parentals. Aren’t they lovely parents?! Another good thing to come out of Easter Sunday? I’ve finally eaten at Jamie’s Italian and boy was it good! I can now see what all the fuss was about as my baked mushrooms and mozzarella and aubergine pasta were both out-of-this world and delicious. I must pop back there soon. The day was finished off with the consumption of copious amounts of mini eggs – the perfect Easter Sunday I think.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

