February’s Books

February’s book reading has been VERY successful as I’ve finished six books and I’m on my seventh. That puts me a fifth of the way through my challenge for the year – hooray! This makes me think that it could be possible for me to complete it, well as long as I don’t suddenly have a week or two of bad reading, fingers crossed! So what have I been reading and what did I think of the books….

Black Beauty, Anna Sewell – I’m actually fairly ashamed to say I’ve never read this book as it’s such a classic. How I’ve managed to get through the past 20-something years without reading it, considering I’ve always been such a book-worm, I’m not sure but now that I have I’m not sure I understand the massive amount of love for this book. I just wasn’t really a fan of any of it – sorry to all the Black Beauty fans out there.

The Twits, Roald Dahl – I loved Roald Dahl’s stories as a child. I must have read George’s Marvellous Medicine about 30 times and Matilda is one of my all-time favourite books – up there with Charlotte’s Web in my opinion. But somehow I never read The Twits and now that I have I LOVED it! It’s so brilliantly imaginative and funny, although wildly dark at the same time, like all good Dahl stories.

The 5th Wave, Rick Yancey – I read a sneaky proof of this book as it’s not out until May and it was really, really good! I’ve not read any Rick Yancey books in the past, but I’m tempted to now I’ve read this one. It’s a brilliant postapocalyptic/dystopian novel on a par with The Hunger Games with well-written characters and suspense on every page.

Insurgent, Veronica Roth – It suddenly occurred to me that I hadn’t read book two of the Divergent series even though I was a huge fan of the first book. I’m not sure how I let this slip through my fingers, but I’m very glad I remembered and have now read it. It’s brilliant and it’s as good as book one – the characters keep you guessing what their going to do next and it’s definitely left me intrigued about book three. How’s it all going to end?!

Private: No. 1 Suspect, James Patterson – I love James Patterson’s novels as they are so easy to read and all about the suspense. I find them the perfect beach read or read when you need something that doesn’t involve much effort or thought. And this book was no different. Plus I’m fairly new to the Private series so it was good to find out more about these recurring characters.

Kane Chronicles: The Throne of Fire, Rick Riordan – This is one of about five Rick Riordan book on my book list and as per usual the book didn’t disappoint. The reason I love these books is that you learn so much! It’s been years since I did any Egyptian history, in fact it was about 18 years ago, so it was good to be reminded about some of the myths and legends and to see how Rick Riordan weaves it all in to a brilliant story that always keeps you gripped. Definitely one to be added to your list if you’ve not read it before!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I really loved Insurgent! I’m anxious for book three’s release in October.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

