Happy things!

It seems to have been a while since I shared what is keeping me smiling in a Smiley Happy Things post. I’m not sure why that’s been the case but let us rectify that right now! So what are the things that I’m happy to have in my life at the mo, what have I rediscovered and what things brighten up my day at the moment? Where to start!!

Mochas – I’m fairly certain these lovely warming drinks have made an appearance on a previous Smiley Happy Things post in the past (oh yes look, here they are!). But I’m having so many of them at the moment and love them so much they had to be mentioned again. Simply put they warm me up instantly, make me smile and instantly improve my day. I’m sure I shouldn’t drink my feelings but I do and these are certainly my drink of choice!

The Following – I’m so in love with this show its ridiculous. I’m not sure why as it makes me jump in fright ALL THE TIME! Yet something about it has me hooked, probably something to do with the mesmerising acting and gripping storyline. I’m still a couple of episodes behind, so no spoilers please, but let me know if you’re enjoying it as much as me. And if you’ve not discovered it yet, then rectify that asap, it’s brilliant! Here’s the trailer to whet your appetite.

Baking – I’ve been baking a lot recently and I’ve been really enjoying it. I’d be hard pressed to decide on a favourite recipe as everything’s been so scrumptious – Mini Egg Blondies, Red Velvet Cupcakes, Brownies and Biscuits – and it’s been good to be baking. I think next up might have to be these Blackberry Pie Bars from Pink Parsley. Don’t they just look scrumptious?

The Footloose episode of Will and Grace – Watching the lovely Kevin Bacon  in The Following reminded me of a great episode of Will and Grace where the friends met the real Kevin Bacon and Will and Kevin do the dance from Footloose. When I first watched it it made me laugh so much and thankfully that doesn’t seem to have changed. I’ve been watching it loads recently and it still cracks me up every time. It’s simply hilarious thanks to the ‘it’s all about the arm swinging’, the enthusiasm they both show, the instant switch in Will’s demeanour when the music starts and of course the hand clap! Amazing, if you’ve not seen that episode there’s a clip here – absolute genius.

Popcorn – I seem to have become obsessed with making my own popcorn recently! Ever since I discovered how easy it is to make it at home (all you need is oil and a saucepan, it’s so easy how did I not discover this sooner!) it’s like I’ve turned a corner in my snacking life! I’m not kidding I’ve been eating it all the time and I’ve started to introduce more ingredients – m&m’s, mini marshmallows and left over chocolate brownies have all made an appearance so far. Although to be honest popcorn kernels and agave syrup works just as well. I suppose it’s not a bad snack obsession to have, but still I think I need to reign it in a smidge!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

