30 things

So yes this is an ‘about me’ post, I’m sure everyone’s bored of those by now as I’ve seen loads recently. But having read my fair share of them I wanted to write my own. I thought it would be quite cathartic to think of 30 things about me, now I’m not self-obsessed enough to think that any of the below is particularly interesting to anyone, but I enjoyed the exercise of thinking about the last 28 years! x

  1. I hate the texture of tomatoes, which means I can’t eat a whole tomato or the big lumps that are in Bolognese sauce without feeling sick, eurgh!
  2. My favourite book as a child was The Five-and-a-Half-Club a book that NO ONE else has ever heard off!
  3. I’m 100% addicted to Cadbury’s Mini Eggs and can eat an entire big bag in one sitting without feeling even a little ill or getting bored.
  4. I prefer cold weather to the heat, as it’s easier to warm up than cool down and there’s nothing worse than a red, sweaty, blotchy me.
  5. I love the smell of burning, freshly cut grass, the butchers and the sea.
  6. I get travel sick, although I’ve never actually been physically sick before. I used to feel so ill that I wouldn’t eat the entire day before flying or during the flight, which has meant a 36 hours fast in the past.
  7. I’m a twin, and I’m the younger one. By a mere 64 minutes. I also have another sister who is 8.5 years younger than me.
  8. I love my freckles.
  9. I absolutely adore Italy and everything related to it – the food, the gorgeous vistas, the beautiful cities and the stunning architecture. I can’t wait to return there soon.
  10. One of the things I don’t like about living in London is not being able to have my windows open at night. I love having a nice breeze and listening to the night-time sounds, especially when I’m back at my parents when there’s just the sound of nature and the odd train in the distance. But the noise in London means I can’t open my window if I want to sleep!
  11. After university I went travelling for five months to five countries. Except it wasn’t really ‘travelling’ in the usual sense of the word – I took a suitcase, we went to mostly western countries (Australia, New Zealand and America) and we pretty much always had an en-suite bathroom. What can I say I’m not a fan of roughing it!
  12. I had a pet fish named Tim and then Tim 2 and then Tim 3 when I was younger. My sister’s fish was called Topsy.
  13. I went to Manchester University, and loved every single moment of my three years there.
  14. Part of the reason I considered Manchester when looking for a University was because I support Manchester United. Yes seriously.
  15. Growing up I loved snuggling on the sofa with my family to watch Sunday night TV. There was a lot of Poirot, Midsummer Murders, The Forsythe Saga and London’s Burning, and yes I did hide behind the cushions whenever there was a fire on London’s Burning – so basically the entire episode!
  16. I love Kellogg’s Crunchy Nut Cornflakes, but not the adverts.
  17. I never read any of Jane Austen’s books until I was at University and my favourite is Persuasion. I personally don’t understand everyone’s obsession with Pride and Prejudice, maybe that’s because I’ve not watched the BBC adaptation.
  18. I hate mango, pineapple, grapefruit, melon and passionfruit. I’d much rather have a ‘boring’ banana or apple any day of the week.
  19. I spent a lot of my holidays as a child in Dorset and loved every second.
  20. I don’t understand how tights and shorts is an acceptable outfit choice.
  21. I can’t wear pale colours, it’s all about the brights for me!
  22. I love musicals, I think Wicked or Billy Elliott are my favourite stage ones. Although The Sound of Music on DVD is my most watched musical.
  23. I don’t understand the obsession with Hollister, Abercrombie and Gilly Hicks shops. How can anyone shop in there, although granted the guys that work there are hot!
  24. Purple is my favourite colour (hence the blog design) and spots are my favourite pattern.
  25. I love Cath Kidston prints and Joules jumpers with animals on.
  26. I want to own a pair of Hunter wellies and ‘proper’ Ugg Boats but I don’t think I could ever justify the cost!
  27. I’ve never been drunk or hung over and barely drank at all at uni. Now I’m partial to a Mojito or Pear Cider, but that’s about it in the alcoholic beverage department.
  28. I still sleep with my teddy bear from when I was born.
  29. My favourite meal is either my Mum’s lasagna, my Dad’s chicken and ham pie or their roast chicken – it’s a very hard decision!
  30. My Mum’s entire family moved out to Australia to life when she was in her early 20s and she almost went too, instead she ended up staying here with my Dad – just imagine how different my life would have been had she decided to go!
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

