Pinterest Corner #7 – Healthy Chocolate Brownies

Yes I appreciate that the title of this post is an oxymoron. A healthy chocolate brownie, how does that work I hear you ask? Have I given leave of my senses? Well I promise you I haven’t, there is such a thing, and I made them over the weekend. As they were so delicious I thought I’d share them in this week’s Pinterest Corner.

I spotted this brownie recipe a while back and pinned it to my Sweet Eats board straightaway as I knew I’d fancy making these one day. It turns out that the day was sooner that I thought, as I made them last weekend for our mini Super Bowl gathering. They were perfect as they are healthy and I knew I’d need more than one chocolate brownie if I wanted to stay awake into the very early hours of Monday morning. So what makes them so healthy I hear you ask? Well, the secret ingredient is butternut squash, random right? But this obscure ingredient totally works as the cakes are really moist and wonderfully chocolatey.

20130207-184913.jpg

What’s great about this recipe is that the brownies are super easy to make and taste delicious. Everyone in the house loved them and all 30 of them were gone in about 48 hours – oops!!  The one thing I would say about them is that they tasted a bit more like a cake than a brownie, so don’t be disappointed in that. I still think they’re yummy and the perfect hit of chocolate. Actually they were so good that I will surely be making them every week as it’ll be hard to life without these moist, chocolatey morsels of loveliness! And even better at just 53 calories each it means I can eat 3 without feeling even slightly guilty, always a win.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. misscookie11

     /  February 7, 2013

    Oooo these sure look lovely. Might have to give that a go sometime!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

