Bookity Books

So I’m a whole month in to my 2013 Reading Challenge and things are going fairly well. So well in fact that I’ve upped my reading challenge goal from 40 to 52 – yep that’s one book a week – fingers crossed I can keep up my current pace and make it! I’ve read four books so far and below are my very mini reviews of each. And now back to my current read, The Kane Chronicles: The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan, which I’m loving!

Bloodlines: The Indigo Spell, Richelle Mead
I was lucky enough to get a sneaky peek at this book over Christmas – one of the joys of working in publishing! And it was absolutely brilliant! It’s the best book in the Bloodlines series so far and you learn A LOT of stuff. Plus, and perhaps most importantly, the relationship between Sydney and Adrian really develops. I found myself squealing/getting angry with both characters a number of times due to their actions. I can hardly wait for book 4 in the series as this one ended with lots of questions!

Temptation Island, Victoria Fox
At the start of the year I was really after a book that wouldn’t require thought or effort to read. You know the sort of book that is easy to get into and keep up with. And this book was just that and bonus it was really, really good!  The story was entwined and switched between characters, all of who were super rich, gorgeous and talent, which is always fun to read during a dark and dismal January! The story was good and kept you guessing until the very end of the books. My only qualm is that I never really felt empathy with the characters, that’s probably due to the aforementioned perfect lifes they seemed to lead.

The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, Jonas Jonasson
This is a great book and probably one of the few books that has the synopsis as it’s title! I was recommended this book by a friend who said I wouldn’t be able to put it down. And she was right. I was thoroughly gripped, it was such good fun. The story was well written, with brilliant characters and an elephant – no seriously there was! Plus it was great to see some massive huge world-changing events from one man’s perspective. So fascinating!

The Butterfly Summer, Anne-Marie Conway
I finished this book at the end of last week and I can’t say I was a fan. While I did race through it, it definitely felt like I was only reading to finish it rather than because I wanted to know what happened. Which isn’t really ideal! I struggled to really like any of the characters and I felt the book was quite obvious with where it was going. Also it didn’t help that there was an odd supernatural element to this book, but as ridiculous as in Audrey Niffenegger’s The Fearful Symmetry, but none the less not ideal!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

