Casablanca

20130127-200525.jpg

I watched the second movie from my 25 classic films I MUST watch list at the weekend and I absolutely loved it! I think Casablanca is now on my top ten favourite films of all time list, it was so brilliant and 100% lived up to my super-high expectations! I’m so pleased about this as I wanted to love this film and was worried I wouldn’t after the catastrophe that was Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I think it helped that the characters were flawed but likeable and that it was a genuinely interesting plot; yes you could guess certain things would happen but that certainly didn’t spoil it. And there was still enough of a plot that you couldn’t work out yourself, thanks to all the double-crossing and lies. Plus it was a genuinely funny film.

Likes:

  • The quotes that I didn’t know I knew! Obviously I knew ‘Here’s looking at you, kid‘ was from Casablanca. But I hadn’t realised that ‘Of all the gin joints in all the towns in all the world, she walks into mine‘ and ‘We’ll always have Paris‘ were from Casablanca and I love that I now know this!
  • Sam, how brilliant was Sam?! He was such a nice guy and a brilliant friend to Rick but most importantly his voice was wonderful. When he was singing ‘As Time Goes By’ it was one of my favourite moments of the entire film. Also, how did I not know this song was from Casablanca – mind blown!
  • Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman were amazing! Having never seen either of them in a film before I was expecting them to be brilliant but I can’t believe how good they actually were. Also their chemistry was amazing, what an excellent pairing they are.
  • Victor Laszlo, Elsa’s husband was a great character. I loved how even though you wanted Elsa and Rick to end up together as they truly loved each other, you still rooted for and liked Victor, which isn’t usually the case in these sorts of films.
  • Captain Louis Renault is another brilliant character. I love his role throughout the story and how, in a way, he ends up saving the day!
  • Dislikes:

  • I only really have one bug-bear with this film and that’s the overuse of the music from ‘As Time Goes By’. Literally this tune is used the entire way through and to be honest it gets a bit repetitive. I think it would have been better to create another tune to use throughout, as I’ve been humming the song repeatedly ever since and during the film it was rather distracting!
  • Favourite Bit:
    I absolutely loved the ending, it was absolutely perfect. It was wonderful to see what two people will do for someone who they love that much. Both Rick and Elsa knew that they were sacrificing something for someone they loved, and putting someone else’s happiness above their own and that’s a phenomenal thing. What a beautiful way to end a thoroughly wonderful film.

    Leave a comment

    1 Comment

    1. Resolution Recap « fisdailyponderings

    Leave a Reply

