Life is Very Short

life is short

These are words that I’ve been thinking about since yesterday when I realised how fragile life is, how luck can act in the strangest of ways and how in reality ‘Life is short’, so why waste it by focusing on the bad stuff.

Yesterday I was on the bus to work in a little world of my own, humming along to Taylor Swift and getting odd looks, when I noticed the people outside at the bus station were acting really strangely, they were all looking horrified and aghast and like they couldn’t believe what they’d seen. I was intrigued as to what was going on so as the bus pulled away and out of the bus station I looked back down the road I’d just come from and saw a massive plume of very black smoke spewing up from between the buildings. It was like something out of an action flick. I then clicked open Twitter and did a quick search for ‘Vauxhall’ (the bus station I was at) and saw people’s tweets about a helicopter crashing into a crane,  the ground and then exploding. And sure enough when I looked up I saw a crane. It was dangling down the side of a building. Yes that’s right I was at Vauxhall along with hundreds of other people when the helicopter accident happened and two people lost their lives.

At this point I don’t think I quite realised what had happened and what I’d seen. I didn’t really comprehend that a helicopter had crashed and probably killed the pilot (which we now know it did). I didn’t even think about all the people who could potentially have been hit by the falling debris or petrol (which I now know happened, fatally for one person). I didn’t even think about the fact that I’d been under the bridge and on the road where parts of the helicopter landed less than 30 seconds earlier. All I thought about was ringing my sister to say ‘don’t get the bus, the traffic’s going to be bad’. I think in all honestly if I had done any of the above things, and actually let it sink in, that I’d been moments from death and that something terrible had happened, then I would have lost it big time. Instead I let it sink in slowly as I watched the coverage on the BBC website, as I scrolled through the tweets of those that had been there and as I told my colleagues what I’d seen.

Yesterday I was lucky – I was in the right place at the right time and was thankfully only a spectator on the fringes of this terrible tragic accident. There are other people who weren’t as lucky – the two men who lost their lives, the 13 people who were injured and the countless other people who saw it happen first hand or who are part of the emergency teams. These are the people whose lives have irrevocably changed forever, these people that were in the wrong place at the wrong time. So if we take away anything from this tragic accident it should be to always remember that ‘Life is very short and there’s no time for fussing and fighting my friend‘, so instead of these negative things let us focus on the things that matter – family, friends, gratitude, love, laughter and happiness.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Good friends, Bodeans and sisterly fun « fisdailyponderings
  2. My favourite posts | fisdailyponderings

Leave a Reply

