Breakfast at Tiffany’s

So I’ve finally done it, I’ve watched one of the films off of my 25 classic films I must watch list, whoop! Last night I settled down to watch Breakfast at Tiffany’s armed with popcorn and to be honest I wasn’t really a fan of the film. In fact I found it quite disappointing, I’m not sure all the fuss about this film is warranted. So below is my little reviewing system for the films I watch this year as part of this list.

Likes:
* Holly’s flat – her sofa is half a bath, WANT!
* New York – I love any film set in New York, although I wish we’d seen a bit more of it.
* Holly’s perfume holder – I loved where she kept her mirror and perfume, genius!
* The shoplifting scene was genuinely brilliant and I couldn’t stop laughing.
* The taxis – I thought a New York yellow cab was the coolest cab alive. Oh no these colourful classic cars win hands down.
* Cat – he was super cute and did the best facial expressions, especially when he was soaked!
* George Peppard – I loved him and his character and loved his utter bewilderment at the beginning when faced with Holly as well as his speeches in the library and taxi.

Dislikes:
* Holly Golightly – I really really didn’t like the character of Holly. I found her annoying, pathetic, stupid and so incredibly selfish. There wasn’t any redeeming quality that I could see in her and I certainly didn’t empathise or feel sympathy for the situations she got into.
* The Japanese neighbour – what the hell was that about?! Why was he a fake Japanese person? Why did he even need to be Japanese? WHAT!
* The plot – what actually happened? Barely anything as far as I could tell. I wasn’t expecting action or fights but I honestly thought there’s be a bit more meat to the story than a couple meeting, there being complications – ex husband, he’s a gigolo, money and prison – and then it’s all fine in the end.
* Audrey Hepburn – I’ve never watched her in a film before and I have to say I didn’t think she was that great. I mean yes she’s beautiful and stylish but I didn’t think her acting was amazing considering how she’s spoken about by people.

Favourite bit:
When Paul freaks out at Holly in the taxi at the end and storms off in the rain to look for Cat.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. A VERY long week « fisdailyponderings
  2. Casablanca « fisdailyponderings
  3. Resolution Recap « fisdailyponderings

Leave a Reply

