My highlights of 2012

I haven’t been writing this blog for that long, so I can’t really justify a 2012 round up post, but I still love the idea of looking back over my year and sharing the good, the bad and the beautiful with you. So that’s what we have below! These are all the things that I know I would have shared with you had I been blogging when they happened. I hope you enjoy my look back over the last twelve months, I certainly enjoyed reminiscing as I compiled this post!

January: I went for my first run in about 5 years and survived! Although apparently it’s debatable whether or not it was an actual run, it may have been more of a fast walk. I also baked scrumptious brownies, had my first go at creating a homemade pizza (it was delish!) and had a very lovely friend visit from the US of A so a trip to the beautiful Natural History Museum was in order. Gosh I really do love that place, the interior is just stunning, and of course the exhibits are excellent too!

 

February: Snow fell, I was in serious pain with my wisdom teeth and needed drugs asap, I worked out my brain on a number of pub quizzes, karaoke happened – there was a lot of screeching, giggling and plentiful cocktail consumption! – and I found a super healthy recipe for cupcakes.

 

March: March was the month of a trio of trips. A trip with friends to beautiful York, a trip to the Royal Albert Hall (what a beautiful building) to listen to Lang Lang and a trip to the Hammersmith Apollo to see the hilarious Jack Whitehall. There was also lots more running, the kicking in of my holiday countdown and I got my purple havianas out for the first time in 2012 (always an exciting moment)!

 

April: Well this was certainly a month of two halves. First off it was bloody brilliant with 20-something birthday celebrations – we’re talking scrumptious cake decorated with m&m’s – what else! – beautiful flowers and lovely presents, um hello Matilda the musical! And then a wonderful trip to Australia to see family which involved just over two weeks with family and friends, seeing the beautiful sites, eating glorious food, paddling in the sea, meeting new family members and attending a beautiful garden wedding – I felt so lucky. The other half of this month was tinged with sadness as my Gramps passed away before I managed to visit him in Oz, we’re talking 6 days before I flew out – big time suckage. So yes fun tinged with sadness, but at least he didn’t suffer further and at least I was able to spend lots of time with my Nanna when out in Australia.

 

May: May was mostly about being in Australia and chilling at Coogee Beach, baking Lemonade Scones (four ingredients I tell you!), a bountiful trip to Borough Market and most excitingly (at the time) running for 25 minutes without dying – miracle of miracles!

 

June: Four things: The Monsters University trailer launched (cue much squealing as I love the original!), I treated myself to pretty new shoes, a trip to Greenwich by riverboat and much Jubilee fun, including biscuits.

 

July: Well July was possibly my busiest and greatest month of 2013. There was hen weekend madness in Bristol, lots of hour long walks to work, I completed the 5k and managed to run the ENTIRE way (get in!), I went to the Proms, experienced the best ever Olympics and saw the Best case of bad social media I’ve ever seen! Olympics Shenanigans (or as I like to call it THE GREATEST SPORTING EVENT I WILL EVER WITNESS) included: Watching beach volleyball at the greatest venue ever created, seeing the Olympic flame twice (once on the River Thames and once as it went past the Olympic Stadium), watching the UK team fly past us leading the pelaton during the road race, the most amazing Olympic opening ceremony ever (there may or may not have been tears of pride), a 4.30am start to watch the hockey at the Riverside Stadium with a fantastic view of the London skyline behind.

 

August: More Olympic Shenanigans occured, most notably tickets to the first evening of the athletics which meant snazzy union jack nails for me and a close up of the Olympic cauldron. I also had two full on shopping trips. One to buy clothes for the new trimmer me and the other to Ikea with the little sis who was off to Uni, go her! And then some cultural trips to watch Yes, Prime Minister and Hamlet at the Globe to balance out the (non-cultural) shopping fun!

 

September: The Paralympics happened – hello wheelchair basketball at the O2!, I had a week long trip to Portugal with SUNSHINE, sunbathed outside the National Theatre and attended another gorgeous wedding, this time it was vintage inspired. I baked a delicious stripey cake, the Olympics officially ended 😦 and I watched golf for three solid days to witness the greatest comeback in Ryder Cup history – Ian Poulter is my hero.

 

October: Highlights of October included a brilliant weekend in Sheffield and the Lakes, watching ‘Bond, James Bond’ (Daniel Craig, I love you), A Great British Bake Off Send Off party and cheering on The Patriots at NFL London at Wembley Stadium.

 

November: November featured lots of things including the reappearance of the Starbucks red cups, my first visit to watch Les Mis at the theatre (how have I not watched this before!), an Emile Sande concert, torrential rain and thunder storms in Portugal, delicious afternoon tea and the baking of this wondrous Giraffe Cake!

 

December: The last month of the year was epic, not just because Christmas happened but also thanks to a weekend to Nottingham, a very relaxed hen night, scrumptious reindeer cupcakes and the Harry Potter Studio Tour occured – BEST MOMENT EVER!

 

One thing that doesn’t fit into the handy round up above is my biggest accomplishment of the year, which was losing 37 pounds. Now losing doesn’t quite describe it correctly, it’s not like I mislaid that weight, I worked damn hard to get rid of it all. I started running, walking and eating less; I even put away the peanut m&m’s at times and I feel so proud of myself for doing it. In fact check out the results below, I honestly barely recognise my old face! Hooray for my hard work in 2012, now I just need to keep it up for those last pounds in 2013!!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Love, love, love. What a great year xxx

    Reply
  2. Wow, marvelous blog structure! How long have you ever been blogging for? you make blogging glance easy. The total look of your web site is wonderful, as smartly as the content!

    Reply
  3. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing on your feed and I am hoping you write again very soon!

    Reply
  4. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention that I have really enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing on your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more soon!

    Reply
  1. My favourite posts | fisdailyponderings

Leave a Reply

