New year, new resolutions

So it’s that time of year where you sit down and make resolutions about how you’ll make you life better over the coming year. Usually they’re food and exercise related (i.e. eat less and run more) or money related (spend less and earn more)! I have to admit I’m not usually big on resolutions as I think if something needs changing then just get on and do it, why wait for a new year to begin? However, this year I’m feeling a bit differently about it all and see that it’s a good time to make a few changes; although I’m not going to make drastic changes or unrealistic promises, instead I’ve considered carefully the things that need amending and what I want to achieve over the upcoming months. I’ve shared my five resolutions for 2013 below and I think they sound manageable, there’s nothing too huge that needs doing on this list. It’s more about making a few changes to what I already do, at least I hope so…. I’ll keep you updated regularly on here so you know how it’s going and here’s hoping my willpower holds out!

Lose those last few pounds – Since I started losing weight back in March I’ve had a goal in mind for the new me, this is a goal I’ve shared with no one and never really considered meeting, it was more of a pie in the sky idea in my head! However, I’m now thinking that it might be a good new target for me, as I need something to get me out of the lull I’m currently in and it’s nothing compared to what I’ve already achieved!

Mix up my outfits – I feel like I always grab the same outfits each morning and accessorise them in the same way. So I’ll be trying new combinations of clothes and accessories over the coming year. This should be fairly easy as I have a shed load of jewellery, belts and shoes which I just don’t wear and plenty of clothes that I can mix and match quite easily, so it won’t cost me anything. I really just need to get my arse in gear and come up with new outfit options – fun times!

Eat more fruit and vegetables – A boring resolution I know but I’ve realised I definitely don’t eat anywhere near the recommended five a day when it comes to fruit and veg. Take today as an example I’ve only had some orange juice, half an apple, some tomato soup, a bit of avocado and some roast parsnips and potatoes and today was better than normal. Hhm this is not ideal! Not only will this be good for my health and teeth, it’ll be great for my bank balance as a banana is far cheaper than a Wispa bar!

Visit more places in London – I’ve lived in London for almost three years now yet there are still loads of places I want to visit and things I want to do. Like go to the National Gallery, visit Kew Gardens, wander through Regents Park, ride Boris Bikes in Hyde Park, explore Islington, shop at Fortnum and Mason or have afternoon tea at The Ritz – the list goes on and on. So 2013 is the year that this will happen; I WILL branch further afield than normal and go to other places instead of just sticking to my south and central London bubbles! ps any suggestions of places to visit are more than welcome!

Familiarise myself with more of the classics – Be it classics films or classic books, I want to know what all the fuss is about when it comes to classics like Casablanca, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, The Godfather, The Catcher in the Rye and many more. You can follow my foray into these books through my 2013 book challenge posts or the film ones at my soon to be created 25 classic films I MUST watch page.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. A VERY long week « fisdailyponderings
  2. Resolution Recap « fisdailyponderings
  3. Pinterest Corner #7 – Skinny belts and cardigans « fisdailyponderings
  4. Pinterest Corner #10 – The Ultimate Goal | fisdailyponderings
  5. Etsy Love | fisdailyponderings

Leave a Reply

