Wrapping Love

One of my favourite parts about Christmas is the careful wrapping of presents for family and friends. I love taking the time to choose the perfect paper, bows and decorations and then adorning the present I’ve chosen for them – to me a present isn’t done until it looks gorgeous on the outside as well as on the inside. This can be quite a long and expensive process as I buy the decorations throughout the year when I see the perfect item, but I do think it’s worth the faff as it’s totally necessary!

This year with the wonders of Pinterest, I’ve also been collecting all my favourite wrapping ideas and colour schemes or themes in one place – my ‘Let’s get Wrapping‘ board. This has been a god send as it’s meant I haven’t been able to forget any of my favourites and I had somewhere to head when I needed inspiration for this years wrapping! Considering the love affair that I have with wrapping and how important it is for me at this time of year, I though I’d share some of my favourite wrapping ideas for this Christmas. Strangely enough I’m not the only person who’s doing this at the moment! Last night I stumbled across Irene at A Beautiful Blog’s, Gift Wrap: Top 19 favourite ideas and I fell in love with all her favourites too! However I stopped myself from adding them all in to the below, although I might have to go and pin a few of them on to my Pinterest board for future use!

So below are my favourite wrapping ideas for this Christmas and I’ll share my final Christmas wrapping designs once I’ve wrapped everything – probably late on Christmas Eve now to be honest, as I’m running a bit behind!!!

20121222-232329.jpg

First up is this brilliant idea from Martha Stewart of a Christmas Tree silhouette which I love! Not only is it simple but you could also try out lots of different shapes – and not just Christmas ones. So perhaps simple shapes or letters (when the name begins with a mirror image letter of course!). Also I like the idea of choosing multi-coloured paper to go underneath the brown paper and also using that coloured area as your gift tag, I think that could look quite cute! Definitely one to remember!

20121222-232335.jpg

I’m a bit of a sucker for anything red and white at Christmas time, which I think I’ve mentioned once or twice in the past, so the idea of red and white patterned washi tape with brown paper really went down well with me. Now I’ve not used washi tape much myself in the past, but I think I’ll definitely investigate it next year for present wrapping and crafting as I’ve seen some great ideas online recently.

20121222-232340.jpg

Now these I love! And they are so easy to make as I’ve tried a variation of these for my own presents this year. All you need is some wool and felt and hey presto, you have your very own snowflake gift tags. Although to be honest the back of my tags were such a mess I had to stick them down on the pressies, rather than having them swinging. But definitely a winner all year round!

20121222-232345.jpg

This wordsearch wrapping paper is brilliant, and if you work in an office as I do it’s very inexpensive to create – another thing that’s always useful at this time of the year! This would also be ideal all year round again, although I think that I would have have to add some more decoration to a gift if I wrapped it with this paper. Maybe some bright ribbons or bows to make it look a little more special.

20121222-232352.jpg

This is one of the first things that I ever pinned on to my ‘Let’s Get Wrapping’ board and I love it as much now as I did when I pinned it! The different coloured wool idea is so lovely and bright and just stunning from afar. I think this would look equally good if you only used a couple of colours or only wrapped an inch or so of the present. Beautiful.

20121222-232802.jpg

This gorgeous white, gold and turquoise paper is lovely although not quite as simple as I’d like I fear! Mainly as I’ve not been able to find these doily stickers anywhere! But I do want to try this one day as it looks so lovely. It also looks very high end and sophisticated, which is impressive considering it’s just doily stickers!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Thanks very interesting blog!.

    Reply
  2. Just desire to say your article is as surprising. The clearness in your post is just cool and i could assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

    Reply
  1. Christmas Wrapping | fisdailyponderings
  2. Pinterest Corner #17 – Sparkly wrapping paper | fisdailyponderings

Leave a Reply

