The Book List

I’m a book addict. There I said it, the truth is out. Further to this addiction admission I should let you know I work in publishing so books are always to hand and hence I always have at least one book on the go at all times. As for what I read, I’m generally not fussy – fiction, crime, non-fiction, YA, kids, etc – and a book has to be really dreadful for me not to finish it or enjoy it. In fact I think there’s only one book that I’ve not finished this year and that’s Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy which I just could not get into at all. After 200 pages I gave up as I just wasn’t following the storyline or liking it at all.

Anyway back to the point of this post, I realised recently that there are so many books that I’ve never read that I really should. I’m talking classics here, things like Lady Chatterly’s Lover and Catcher in the Rye as well as more modern classics like Emma Donoghue’s Room or The Book Thief. I’m seriously fed up of the looks of disbelief that I receive when I say I’ve never read these books (it’s just one book people, let’s have some perspective I’ve not killed anyone!) and so in 2013 in going to work at rectifying this by setting myself a little (well big really!) challenge.

To read as many of the books on the list below as I possibly can, with a goal of at least 40.

I think that’s possible as I’ve read about 50 books so far this year and some of the books on my list are quite short, plus there’s a good mix of books below, so I’m not likely to get stuck in a rut of just classics or crime. As you can see from the list below not all of these are classics that I should read in my lifetime, about half of them are books I own but just haven’t read yet. Yes I am that crazy, I do buy multiple books at a time and then don’t read them straightaway. What can I say? It’s an addiction after all, I just can’t seem to stop it!

So there we go, that’s my challenge set! You can follow my progress and reviews at the 2013 Book Challenge tab. Please do let me know what you think of these books if you’ve read them and also do send suggestions for other books I really NEED to read. I can then add them to my 2014 list!

Watch Over Me, Daniela Sacerdoti
Into the Darkest Corner, Elizabeth Haynes
Night Train to Lisbon, Pascal Mercier
Fifty Shades of Grey, E L James
Room, Emma Donogue
The Lovely Bones, Alice Sebold
Super Sad True Love Story, Gary Shteyngart
Drowning Rose, Marika Cobbold
The Blind Assassin, Margaret Atwood
Nemesis, Jo Nesbo
Present Danger, Stella Rimington
Butterfly Summer, Anne-Marie Conway
Paper Towns, John Green
Mockingbird, Kathryn Erskine
The Knife of Never Letting Go, Patrick Ness
Les Miserables, Victor Hugo
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, Arthur Conan Doyle
Robinson Crusoe, Daniel Defoe
Tales of the Greek Heroes, Roger Lancelyn Green
The Book Thief, Markus Zusak
The Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck
The Reluctant Fundamentalist, Mohsin Hamid
Heroes of Olympus: The Mark of Athena, Rick Riordan
The Kane Chronicles: The Serpents Shadow, Rick Riordan
Skippy Dies, Paul Murray
Treasure Island, Robert Louis Stevenson
Middlemarch, George Eliot
The Twits, Roald Dahl
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll
The Secret Life of Bletchley Park, Sinclair McKay
Black Beauty, Anna Sewell
The Secret History, Donna Tartt
Heroes of Olympus: The Lost Hero, Rick Riordan
Lady Chatterley’s Lover, D.H. Lawrence
Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Truman Capote
Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas
Far from the Madding Crowd, Thomas Hardy
Catcher in the Rye, J. D. Salinger
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Scarlet Letter, Nathaniel Hawthorne
Doctor Thorne, Anthony Trollope
What I Was, Meg Rosoff
Half Blood Blues, Esi Edugyan
American Wife, Curtis Sittenfeld
Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy
The Making of Us, Lisa Jewell
The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, Jonas Jonasson
One Hundred Names, Cecelia Ahern
The German Boy, Tricia Wastvedt
When God was a Rabbit, Sarah Winman
Wolf Hall, Hilary Mantel
The Picture of Dorian Gray, Oscar Wilde
A Spot of Bother, Mark Haddon
Brooklyn, Colm Tóibín
A Million Suns, Beth Revis
A Perfectly Good Man, Patrick Gale
The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern
An Abundance of Katherine’s, John Green
Wives and Daughters, Elizabeth Gaskell
To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
North and South, Elizabeth Gaskell
Temptation Island, Victoria Fox
Charlotte’s Web, E. B. White
Persuasion, Jane Austen
The Immortal Life’s of Henrietta Lacks, Rebecca Skloot
We’ll Always have Summer, Jenny Han
The Kane Chronicles: The Throne of Fire, Rick Riordan
The Winter Ghosts, Kate Mosse
The London Train, Tessa Hadley
How I Live Now, Meg Rosoff
Insurgent, Veronica Roth
The Seamstress, Maria Duenas

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Okay well I’ve got and read at least 11 of those so shout if you want to borrow them. xxx

    Reply
  1. Bookity Books « fisdailyponderings
  2. Augusts reads – five brilliant books | fisdailyponderings
  3. Six recent reads | fisdailyponderings

Leave a Reply

