Beautiful Art

I’m not a big fan of art as I often don’t ‘get’ what everyone else is talking about. Don’t get me wrong I love gorgeous pictures, beautiful vistas and colourful images, but I don’t like the pretentiousness of the art world, where a particular colour or line proves that the artist was thinking so and so. Art to me is a personal thing and is something that looks lovely and evokes feelings in you and you alone. So to have someone else tell you what you should feel when you see something isn’t something I’m a fan of. With that in mind I thought I’d share some of the images, artists and illustrators that I’m obsessed with at the moment, purely because I love looking at their work not for any other preachy/pretensious reason! It would be interesting to know your thoughts and how they differ or agree with my opinions!

First up are the wonderful designs of the Yukari Sweeney Design Company. I own their London bedding and I absolutely adore it’s childlishness, humour and mix of colours. Plus it goes perfectly in  bedroom which is simple blue and white. I’ve been perusing their site a lot recently as I’m contemplating redecorating my bedroom in the new year and whilst there I’ve spotted a lot of amazing products and beautiful designs, like the below brilliant wallpaper which I think would make a beautiful print for the wall or even stylish thank you cards. I really could find numerous ways to use this artwork in my life!

While some people would argue that photography isn’t art I’d 100% disagree as what some people can do with a camera is amazing, sadly I’m not one of them but that doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate what others can do. Andrew Scriven’s photos of Iceland and Antarctica are absolutely stunning and I hope one day I’ll get my hands on one of his prints. But which would I chose one of a penguin or the gorgeous erupting geyser? I’m not sure I’d be able to choose to be honest!

I’m a bit of a fiend when it comes to buying cards, I can’t seem to buy just one at a time, it’s usually a pile of 5 or 10 at a time! It seems I just can’t say no to nice cards! The designs below are some of my recent favourites which also happen to be some of my favourite illustrations. They are by Fuff and are simply lovely. I love the bright colours, simple patterns and beautiful drawings of trees and birds. I seem to have gathered quite a stash so if you know me and it’s your birthday soon, be warned you might see one of these cards very soon!
Tree on Orange Card  Fuff Hearts on Grey Card  Pigeon on Pink Card

When I visited Greenwich Market in the summer I came across Rowan Finch’s wonderful artwork which I absolutely love! His illustrations of London buildings and skylines are absolutely wonderful and they capture the historic buildings and areas perfectly. My favourites are the ones that are just using one of two colours, like the one of The London Eye, the Thames and Parliament and the one of the Tube.

Oliver Jeffers is the final artist that I wanted to mention as I love everything that he does, that’s not even a little bit of an exaggeration, I honestly LOVE it all. I love his style and that you can tell it’s his work whether or not you know it’s him. He does of course create beautiful picture books with enchanting imagery, but I’ve recently discovered his coffee ring project, which is so brilliant! This epitomises what I love about artists their ability to take something random and obscure and turn it in to art, to have that much creativity would be so phenomenal, I’m supremely jealous!
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. If only I’d known this before I bought your christmas presents. Bad timing Fi, bad timing!

    Reply
  2. Oliver Jeffers is a lot of fun. Especially for art lovers like me, with physics or math background )
    Thanks for introducing him. That was some real fun to roam his paintings )

    Reply
  3. I rarely comment, but I looked through a few comments on this page Beautiful Art
    fisdailyponderings. I actually do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind. Is it simply me or does it look like like some of the remarks come across like they are left by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on other places, I’d like to
    keep up with you. Would you list of every one of your social sites
    like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comments. I do write on another blog (cookbakeandeat.wordpress.com) so feel free to visit that blog too. As for Twitter you can follow me on @fievans if you really want – but I’m not that interesting. 🙂

      Reply
  4. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your
    excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

