Run, run, run!

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before I’ve recently started running properly. For my whole life (well the last 10 years or so) I’ve dreamed of being someone who runs for fun and not just for the bus. But I’ve always assumed I’m just one of those people that’s not cut out for running, when in reality I hadn’t really ever really tried it! Don’t get me wrong I’ve always been quite sporty, I loved sport at school and was part of the hockey, rounders and netball teams. But the one PE lesson I hated throughout my whole school life was the 1500 metres, I learnt to dread that running track. Running round it three and a half times felt like a lifetime – those were the longest 15 minutes of my life!
But last year I stopped and thought: ‘No I can be one of those people that chooses to run for fun’, I knew I’d just have to start and finds some willpower!

So back in March last year I signed up for a 5k (A Race for Life on Clapham Common), bought some new trainers and downloaded a 0 – 5k app and off I went. Miraculously just four months later I ran a 5k in 35 mins, hooray! And the key part, I didn’t stop once. Double hooray. I have to say the app was a lifesaver as it helped me slowly build up to 5k in a manageable way, otherwise I’m sure I would have given up before I’d even really started – yep my willpower is that bad!

But it wasn’t just the app that was integral to my running revelations, it was music too. I wouldn’t have got anywhere without my amazing music, my running playlist really pushed me through every time I wanted to stop. I would never have thought one song would have made a difference but it totally did. So with that in mind Ithought I’d share my top five running songs with you. These are the five songs that push me to continue when I think I’m about to die. Now they are in no way a failsafe, as I’ve certainly given up during these songs, but more often than not these songs have got me through a particularly tricky run!

The Climb, Miley Cyrus – Now I know this song says a lot about my musical tastes (cheesy rather than sophisticated!), but I just don’t care. This song is such a great tune and always pushes me that bit further. I think this is mainly down to the lyrics

There’s always gonna be another mountain, I’m always gonna wanna make it move. Always gonna be an uphill battle sometimes I’m gonna have to lose. Ain’t about how fast I get there, ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side, it’s the climb.‘ 

There’s no way, when I’m plodding along, that I can stop once this song is on, it just forces you on as like Miley says, in her infinite wisdom, it’s the climb that matters, not the speed or how you’ll feel after it but the fact that you’ve achieved something. Or at least it is for me.

Just Stand Up!, various – I can’t remember how I discovered this song but I love it and it’s the first song I flick to when I’m starting to flag. It reminds me that completing my run is not that hard to do in the grand scheme of things, not when there are people out there fighting for their life day after day. Plus the lyrics are inspirtional to:

‘Things get better through whatever, if you fall dust it off don’t let up…if the mind keeps thinking you’ve had enough but the heart keeps telling you don’t give up…through it all just stand up…you got it in you, find it it’s in you.’ 

Iris, Goo Goo Dolls – Another brilliant song, not just the lyrics, but more the melody. I love this song and I can’t help but run faster when it’s on. Although signing along at the same time, is not to be advised!

If I Were a Boy, Beyonce – Always guaranteed to get me lifting my head higher and pound my footsteps faster this is just a classic running song. Perhaps not your usual running song as its quite slow at times but I love a song that’s got a slow build and a really rousing chorus!

What Doesn’t Kill You (Stronger), Glee Cast – Now I’m a huge gleek, and there are an awful lot of the Glee songs that make absolutely perfect running songs. They’ve got strong beats, are cheery and are easy to sing along to (in my head anyway). But this is one of my fave running songs, because of (again) the lyrics. I think you’ll agree that when the lyrics are What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger’ there’s no way you can fail to be spurred on. Plus those lyrics are accompanied by a particularly upbeat moment of the song, making it ideal for when I’m struggling!

So those are my favourite running songs, I’m sure there not much use to anyone who isn’t obsessed with cheesy pop but they certainly spur me on when I’m trying to run 5 or 6k, or let’s be honest 3k at the moment! I do think I’ll have to compile a longer list soon as I’m training for a 10k, so lots more songs will be needed. Any suggestions?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

