What happens when reading’s a chore?

As you might have guessed from the name of my blog I’m an avid reader and absolutely love books. I always have at least one book on the go and I’m not at all fussy about what I read. I’ll give pretty much anything a whirl, I don’t care if it’s a fantasy book, a kids book or even historical fiction, I’m willing to read anything if it sounds interesting. Now usually I’ll read at all times of the day: first thing in the morning, on the commute to work, when I’m not out and about and last thing at night (no matter what time I get in). In fact generally I’ll have a book in my hands at all times, but recently I seem to have lost my reading mojo and I just don’t seem to be able to focus on my current book or read more than a few pages at a time. So far it’s taken me about three weeks to read a 300 page book and even though I’ve only got about 50 pages left I still don’t really care about the characters or the story, which never happens.

The only difference between this books and the other books I’ve read, and managed to finish recently, is that this book is one I have to read for work, and I think that’s the crux of the problem. I haven’t been given a choice in the matter and I know that I have a deadline for when I have to have finished it. I think if I’d picked up this book in my local library on my own time I’d have finished it by now and I’d probably be shouting it’s merits from the rooftops. However, because it’s not something I chose to read, it’s a very different story – I can barely look at the book and would rather be doing anything but reading it, including tidying my room – usually unheard of!

So what is it within me that means I literally can’t read this book? It’s as if there’s a switch that’s been flicked so that when I HAVE to do something I’m unable to function how I need to. I imagine this is how kids feel when they’re forced to read certain books at school, the poor things imagine being put off reading for life thanks to this sort of thing!

It’s very strange and I can’t seem to push through it. But I know one thing for sure, I’m going to finish this bloody book and before the date I need to, even if its the last thing I do! Well scratch that let’s not exaggerate, I mean even if its the only book I read for six weeks!

Now I suppose I’d better stop blogging and get reading, oh joy!
-Fi x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

